Skip to content

A new painting!

September 4, 2012

I’ve spent the last eight months focusing on the cards and doing a lot of block printing and letterpress. Also a lot of non-fun stuff like learning how to be a bookkeeper, a marketing person, an accountant, etc. But I haven’t been painting much since Left Field Cards started. And I miss it. So when Karen contacted me about a painting for her boyfriend’s birthday, I was thrilled.

Her boyfriend’s dad was a big Brooklyn Dodgers fan so we went for awesome catcher and Hall of FamerĀ Roy Campanella. I only paint players that I admire and respect (well, except for Ty Cobb, but he’s the exception…) and I have nothing but reverence for Roy Campanella. A fantastic catcher, a great teammate and a good man, whose career on the field was cut short by a tragic car accident. Left paralyzed at 37, he stayed involved with the Dodgers and coached young catchers for the organization.

Acrylics on canvas, 24 x 36″

3 Comments leave one →
  1. julietteM permalink
    September 7, 2012 11:45 AM

    Waouh !

  2. September 10, 2012 4:49 PM

    lovely, thank oyu, his recovery and smiling gentle spirit were a part of my childhood.

  3. September 18, 2012 12:56 PM

    awesome…..I’ve seen a ton of bad baseball paintings so I know

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

